If you are an employer in Idaho, it is important to be aware of the laws regulating the employment of minors. Both state and federal laws apply in this sensitive area, and if there is a conflict between the two, the court will usually go with the most stringent laws to charge you.
Minimum age for employment
According to Idaho employment law, you can only hire a child that is 14 years or older. However, there are some exceptions to this rule. For instance, if a minor is employed by their parent or guardian, they can start working at any age.
The law (ID Code Sec 44-1301) also states that the child must voluntarily agree to be employed, and their parent or legal guardian must give their consent. The employer must also have a valid license from the Idaho Department of Labor to hire minors.
Working hours for minors
14 and 15 years old minors in Idaho are only allowed to work a maximum of three hours on a school day, 18 hours in a school week and eight hours on a non-school day. They are also not allowed to work before seven in the morning or after seven at night. When the public school is not in session, their working hours can be extended to later than 9 pm from June 1st to Labor Day.
16 and 17 years old minors can work for eight hours on a school day, 40 hours during a school week, and 48 hours in a non-school week. However, they are not allowed to work before six in the morning or after ten at night.
Hazardous occupations for minors
There are some jobs minors are not legally allowed to do in Idaho, even with a work permit, because they are considered too dangerous. They include operating machinery, working with toxic chemicals, and driving motor vehicles.
Employers who violate Idaho’s child labor laws can be subject to civil and criminal penalties. The amount of the penalty will depend on the severity of the violation. And thus, it’s essential to be aware of all the laws that apply to you as an employer before you hire a child.